Specializing in Commercial Law & Litigation, Insolvency & Fraud
FAMILY LAW ATTORNEY
Call today to schedule your free consultation
DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE
I'm recognized as one of the top family law attorneys in Orange County. Clients hire me because of my knowledge, experience, respect, integrity, compassion, and overall professional conduct.
I aim to obtain desirable results in court, as well as utilizing creative and cost-effective settlement solutions when possible while maintaining superior legal services.
Relying on several decades of legal experience, I focus my practice on all areas of divorce and family law for clients throughout Orange, Los Angeles, and Riverside Counties. As a Orange County family law attorney I am committed to providing excellent and zealous representation for clients going through difficult family law matters. Obtaining desirable results in court, as well as utilizing creative and cost-effective settlement solutions when possible, are always my goal. Whether your matter must be litigated in court or you and the opposing party are candidates for settlement through other means, I am able to provide superior legal services. I offer a FREE initial consultation.
A divorce may be completed quickly, If both parties cooperate and settle. The termination of marital status (the reverting of your status from that of a married person back to single) occurs at the earliest 6 months and a day after the Petition for Dissolution is served. A litigated divorce usually takes an average of 18 months to go through the court system to get orders at a trial. This could be even longer now in light of COVID-19.
How long does it take to get a divorce in California?
There is no benefit and likewise no detriment, to being either the Petitioner (the one who files the Petition for Dissolution) or the Respondent.
Does it matters who files?
Sometimes it is necessary to seek the assistance of a family law forensic accountant to assist with valuation of business, cash flow available for support, or perhaps other issues like tracing of separate property.
How do we determine the value of our family business?
The Automatic Temporary Restraining Orders are listed on the back of the Summons. These are the actions parties are prohibited from doing during the pendency of the case, including but not limited to: taking minor children out of state, canceling insurance coverage, or disposing of assets without the other party’s written permission or a court order.
What are the "ATROS" people refer to in a divorce?
There is no set age when a child is allowed to pick which parent will have custody. However, Family Code §3042 provides that a child age 14 or older must be permitted to address the court if they wish to do so unless if the court determines doing so is not in the child’s best interest. It does not necessarily mean the court will grant the child’s preference.
At what age does a child get to choose which parent they want to live with?
You must have been a resident of the State of California for at least six months and a County resident for at least three months to file for a dissolution of marriage in any county. There is no six month residency requirement if you wish to file for a legal separation instead of divorce.
How long do I have to live here before I can file for a divorce?
Lisa K. Risner, Esq.
For general inquiries, please fill out the following contact form:
369 San Miguel Drive, Suite 100
Newport Beach, CA 92660
Map & Directions